Asia Extreme on Sundance

I read over at Horrorsquad that Sundance Channel is showcasing Asia Extreme films on Sundance.

Check out the Sundance site for the full lowdown.

Asian horror has suffered from some oversaturation as a result of import redos (The Ring, Grudge, The Eye, Dark Water, Pulse, The Uninvited, Shutter, The Echo) and the usual abuse of a little ray of light until you’ve bled it out and scored big money! big prizes!

Additionally, many of the A horror films present a similar atmosphere and viewpoint.  If you enjoy any of them, you are liable to find more than a few that serve you.  The reverse is obviously true as well.

The oft-mentioned Ichi The Killer is on deck for a September showing.  Might be worth a look for curious viewers who never got around to watching.

Sundance is also showing a film called Subject Two for its Friday Midnight Snack movie on Aug. 13.  A story about a remote location and resurrection experiments.  Dr. Franklin Vick is the morally suspect doctor working his magic on test subject Adam.  Are those names representative of some tongue-in-cheek edge or just ridiculous?  The posted reviews can’t seem to decide.  I’ll have to find out for myself.

I’m going to give Sundance credit for continuing to bring something different to the vast wasteland of dreck usually found up and down the TV dial.

About I.M. Pangs

digital verbal smog creator improbablefrontiers.com
This entry was posted in Film, Literature and Entertainment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Asia Extreme on Sundance

  1. autumnforest says:

    I admit I don’t really get Asian horror that much, but I really do respect Sundance for making independents the rock stars.

    • I.M. Pangs says:

      They are definitely an acquired taste. The female ghost crab-walk and the flash cut scenes get annoying, but I often enjoy them for the cultural perspective (for instance, the importance of the color red, as seen in Pulse (Kairo)). Then again, I also laugh at the ridiculousness that is Tokyo Zombie, which I would say is a hilariously absurd, Saturday kung-fu matinee version of Sean of the Dead.

  2. autumnforest says:

    You totally pointed out what I don’t like…jerky camera, white makeup, and the crab crawl stuff. But, I have to admit that I think it was The Eye 3??? The one with the crossroads ghost feast was really cool. That was a ceremony I didn’t know about and it was really intriguing. I’m trying to get my ghost buddies to try it out with me some time.

  3. stevensirski says:

    Glad to hear Sundance will import some real Asian horror films and not the American remakes. I’ve found that many Asian horror films have a greater aura surrounding them since Ringu and Ju On made them internationally popular, but most are only semi-scary. I’ll admit, however, the kid meowing like a cat in Ju On got me.

    • I.M. Pangs says:

      I think many Asian horror films are aiming primarily for a certain style and atmosphere, leaving some of the storytelling by the wayside. The more things change, the more they stay the same.

      Regardless, I’m always happy for anything different from the normal movie programming landscape. Fallen is on right now. It seems like it’s been on every day this summer.

Leave a Reply

