Panic at the Disc, Oh?

“Man will occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of the time he will pick himself up and continue on.”  Winston Churchill

I really didn’t want to bring up the Winston Churchill “revelations” that have been splashed around the Interzone lately.  Nevertheless, I sense that I am about to.  The story just keeps popping up and I want to purge myself of it now.

A Telegraph article (and scores of other blogs, news services and talking cats) has brought to attention (through the release of previously unseen files by the UK Ministry of Defense) an incident involving Churchill, unknown flying bits and wartime politics.  Essentially, there was an incident report, including pictures taken by aircraft crew, and that report was pressed into secrecy by Churchill during a wartime meeting in the US.

I haven’t slogged through those archives, but the basis of this information seems to come from letters written to the Government inquiring about the incident.  The Churchill discussion about the incident was allegedly overheard by one of Churchill’s private security guards (an RAF officer).  This RAF man apparently only told his daughter when she was 9 years old and told his wife from his deathbed.  The RAF man’s grandson (son of the daughter that was told), now a scientist in the UK, was told the story by his mother.  The grandson eventually wrote a series of letters to the UK Government seeking answers and/or clarification of the story.  The RAF officer allegedly was firm in his belief that the object was secret tech being tested by a foreign government.

So….someone told someone who told someone….eventually reaching the very top brass at a secret meeting of the UK/US war machine in the US, which was overheard by someone and then relayed to a child, who upon rearing her own child, passed it on to him.  All in relation to a “craft” the original story-teller did not believe originated anywhere other than the Wehrmacht.

Churchill is alleged to have demanded the UFO incident be kept from the public for “at least half a century” and was concerned about public panic and loss of faith in the Church.  There can be no concrete confirmation of the incident, as an MoD official has claimed that all files prior to 1967 were destroyed after five years due to lack of public interest.

Interesting points:

  • The RAF officer told his 9-year-old before telling his wife, and then told the wife only on his deathbed.  Perhaps these facts can be interpreted differently, but this is what I’m getting from the story as told by the Telegraph.
  • The Churchill cover-up story is based primarily on letters written to the Government inquiring about the story in question.  NOTE TO SELF:  Start letter-writing campaign hoping to confuse and confound future Earthlings.
  • In the middle of a giant, Earth-shattering war, Churchill is concerned about the loss of faith in the Church and public panic.  However, the lack of public interest years later resulted in the destruction of that very same panic-inducing evidence.
  • What’s the deal with 50 years?  Is that the generally accepted moratorium on panic-inducing secret information?

What can we really tell from this whole mess?  Not much really.  There is a man with a story, who went to the controllers of information to seek clarification.  He did not receive any such clarification.  There are government drones who are unconcerned with tales of the past and who allegedly determined archival information of no particular interest and had a bonfire and wine tasting (or the Government is damnable liars!)  The public at large remains interested (or, if we are to believe the MoD, has rekindled their interest post-1950) in any trail of crumbs regarding the UFO phenomenon.  When a match is lit on the Interzone, the resultant blazing information inferno is almost instantaneous.

So, as usual, interested parties remain steadfast in whatever belief they already held.  I find this episode more intriguing for the human behavior aspects than for anything evidential regarding UFOs.

Side Note:  I caught some of History Channel’s show, Black Box UFO Secrets, which I think set off this post.  It was interesting.  I’m a sucker for space video and pilot/astronaut radio communications, regardless of what they are talking about.  What I’m not sold on is Bill Birnes.  Find someone else to discuss this crap on TV, please.

I was left with a few thoughts

  • If the channels are public (and they have a secure channel as well) and they don’t want anyone speculating about what is going on, why are they not using code words on the public channel?
  • Many of the short audio clips can be taken any number of ways.  Unidentified is unidentified, after all.
  • Bill Birnes is really excitable.

I am fully aware that I have taken a backseat driver’s attitude toward this incident and have done next to no leg work.  This is the beauty of my opinion, I have to put in very little effort to find it.  I am also relying on a reporter’s ability to get the facts correct.  How silly am I?

I swear I will move on to something more interesting in the next post.  I’m thinking mushrooms.

About I.M. Pangs

digital verbal smog creator improbablefrontiers.com
This entry was posted in Film, Literature and Entertainment, Paranormality, Personal Commentary and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Panic at the Disc, Oh?

  1. autumnforest says:

    Holy heck, Pangs! I felt like I was gossiping with my gal pals about something one of them’s husband’s friend heard his wife’s friend saying. Yeah, I like to play that telephone game too when I was kid. You know, one person whispers it to another, then to another and as it gets to the end it resembles nothing of the original–sort of like Joan Rivers face.

    • I.M. Pangs says:

      I should have just posted a bunch of Churchill quotes:

      “True genius resides in the capacity for evaluation of uncertain, hazardous, and conflicting information. ”

      “The length of this document defends it well against the risk of its being read”

      “Never hold discussions with the monkey when the organ grinder is in the room.”

      “In wartime, truth is so precious that she should always be attended by a bodyguard of lies. “

  2. autumnforest says:

    So, baby quotes Churchill. Not a bad hobby, but I think I’d like the quotes better when you’re doing drinking games with Scout.

    • I.M. Pangs says:

      Scout can put me under the table. She reminds me of Marion Ravenwood in that respect.

      I never knew that Ravenwood was that character’s last name until I looked it up just now.

Leave a Reply

