Tales of Horror

Irish Tales, to be precise.

I was heading into the abyss of a government office and felt that I should prepare myself for the inevitable wait time.  Even with a laptop and smart phone, I knew that my best defense was an actual book.

I went to the bookshelf and was drawn to a book that had been sitting there, unread, for a number of years.  It was one of those things that I had wanted a quiet moment to really savor and never managed to do it.  Always in the que, it never made it to the front of the line.  How fitting for a trip into the bowels of bureaucracy.

Great Irish Tales of Horror: A Treasury of Fear.  Edited by Peter Haining.

A collection of 24 horror short stories by a wide range of authors.  I was happy to see something by my new pal, Le Fanu (having recently read his “Carmilla”), as well as Stoker, George Bernard Shaw, M.P. Shiel, Dorothy Macardle, Jack Higgins and even Neil Jordan.

This should be good.  I’ll report back on it later.

About I.M. Pangs

digital verbal smog creator improbablefrontiers.com
This entry was posted in Film, Literature and Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tales of Horror

  1. Autumnforest says:

    Jeez, I’m glad you reminded me. I have to hit the courthouse to get copies of the divorce paperwork and for them to make copies… I better bring a Mitchener novel.

  2. Autumnforest says:

    Good choice, my friend! I wonder if they serve martinis in the lobby?

Leave a Reply

