Skyline

Eric Balfour

Image via Wikipedia

I completely forgot this movie came out.  So, right off the bat it has surprise on its side.  Sometimes that’s enough.  That and low expectations.  Or none.

It started off OK.  A little splashforward (that’s like a flashback, in reverse…but messier), and then the movie gets down to business.

I am pleasantly surprised to see Donald Faison.  I don’t really know why I am.  I could not be described as a fan of his work, but his giant mug came unexpected.  I was intrigued by what he might bring to the film.

How about our pal Sgt. Batista from Dexter (say it with me….Ann-Hell) playing the part of a building employee?  That has to be a plus.

And Brittany Daniel!  Yeah, I didn’t recognize her either.   I haven’t seen her since, like, Dawson’s Crick or something.

There is Eric Balfour.  I’ll admit to fondly remember his work from Six Feet Under.  Whether my recollections are true to my feelings at the time is anyone’s guess.  I definitely enjoyed his character on the Syfy show Haven.

Either way, he has tons of genre cred on his side.  A role on the first couple episodes of the Buffy TV show as well as appearances in Dinoshark, Rise of the Gargoyles, and The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (2003).  That certainly bodes well for this alien flick, no?

The film is an alien invasion film.  Most of the action covers a few folks in a building in LA.  Really, that’s plenty.  It’s an alien invasion, man.  I don’t want to see them dodging giant robot legs and downloading instructions for an abandoned stealth bomber on their iPhone just in time to save the day.  These people are pricks, not heroes, and they approximate the amount of skill most alien dodgers would have.

Like I mentioned, after some brief intro to the characters and their world, we dive right into the crap pile that results when aliens come a callin’.

It worked for me.  What else is there?  It’s a joy when a movie knows what it is.  This is the late film at the drive in.  Acting is fine.  Production budget was workable (allegedly around $10 million, but surely some professional can make do on that).  Let’s just put the brain on idle and enjoy the thing.

Until the end.  The end is from some other movie.  Some movie the original ideators (no, you shouldn’t look that one up, just imagine you had and that it told you something grand…now, let’s settle down and move on) hadn’t planned on.  What those poor folks learned was that The Suits had been thinking about stuff.  Thinking about Improvements.

So, you have some creepy stuff.  Some kind of heroics, maybe.  Red vs Blue.  Aliens versus Balfourbot.  And, most importantly, a cliffhanger ending.  Can you hear me swooning?

That last few minutes was enough to ruin the whole thing.  Not that it took an awful lot to tip the balance, but for a brief, shining moment, I was willing to let it all slide and go with it.

What the heck was I thinking?

About I.M. Pangs

digital verbal smog creator improbablefrontiers.com
This entry was posted in Film, Literature and Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Skyline

  1. autumnforest says:

    Hmm… My favorite movie was “Jeepers Creepers” until the total cheese ending. I felt like a bait and switch victim. I still watch it again and again and forgive the ending because up until that point it was a perfect stalker monster movie, but I’m not sure about this one. If the end is screwed and the movie is so/so…. Hmm… Might not forgive it.

  2. I hate it when things start out well and then end badly.

Leave a Reply

