2010 is soooo 2010

1968 ... '2001' Dr. Floyd and Monolith

Image by x-ray delta one via Flickr

I’m watching the end of 2010 right now (11:30 am-ish).  It’s making me want to wretch a bit.

The new sun kids and the old sun kids are all going to see the landlord coming and MONOLITH!

Monolith saved the damn day.  Again.  That’s when the music hits again.

I’ve never been able to watch 2010 in its entirety.  Only bits and parts.  This is the primary reason that I dawdled.  I wasn’t even sure if I had seen the end of the film before.

I’ve given the movie a few shots over the years when I run across it.  The whole thing just gives me Entertainment Fugue State.  Eventually I snap out of it, but I never have anything to show for my efforts.

I don’t know why I care.  Even this morning, I laughed to myself and thought “not that piece of cinematic space garbage…”

But then I felt bad.  I felt like I just convinced the neighborhood kids to ditch the slow, boring kid.  It wouldn’t hurt to watch just a few minutes.  Right?

I should probably just read the original material from Clarke.  Pull the story out by its roots and be done with it.  I haven’t read that literature in fear that the reading of it will fuel even more film viewings.

2010 is not a voyage of exploration.  It is a voyage of explanation.  This remains true whether you are talking from the movie viewer’s perspective or the characters’ perspectives.

I think I would rather explore.

MONOLITH!  WE LOVE YOU, BRO!

About I.M. Pangs

digital verbal smog creator improbablefrontiers.com
This entry was posted in Film, Literature and Entertainment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2010 is soooo 2010

  1. autumnforest says:

    You’re braver than I am. I won’t even try it. I did sit through Titanic 3 times, falling asleep every freaking time! I give up. Obviously, it is coma-inducing.

Leave a Reply

