In Russia, Aliens Hoax You

Or something like that.

This video made a big splash a bit ago and I promptly ignored it as being terribly silly.  I was, of course, correct in my choice of action.

Nevertheless, here it is because it is so damn nice out that I thought a video of a frozen alien might be refreshing.

Additionally, Irkutsk is one of my favorite cities.  It just sounds like it will beat you up and spit you out before offering you a glass of homemade vodka and some granite-hard jerky, then sitting down with you for a discussion on the politics of the day.

A few wikiwords about Irkutsk and its specialness in world history:

In the early 19th century, many Russian artists, officers, and nobles were sent into exile to Siberia for their part in the Decembrist revolt against Tsar Nicholas I. Irkutsk became the major centre of intellectual and social life for these exiles, and much of the city’s cultural heritage comes from them; many of their wooden houses, adorned with ornate, hand-carved decorations, survive today in stark contrast with the standard Soviet apartment blocks that surround them.

By the end of the 19th century there was one exiled man per two locals. Different people from the members of the Decembrists’ uprising to Bolsheviks have been staying in Irkutsk for a long time. These people have greatly influenced the culture and the development of the city and it has finally became a prosperous cultural and educational centre for Eastern Siberia.

And since I waited so long to address this momentous discovery, some chap at MSNBC did a bit of armchair hoax busting for me (more here).  That’s not lazy folks, that’s me using my available resources to maximize my productivity.

From the second link:

The Siberian alien was created by two Russian teens, Timur Hilall and Kirill Vlasov, who confessed to the hoax after police in Irkutsk, Siberia, investigated. The police also found the “alien” figure hidden in one of the teen’s bedrooms; it was made of several materials, including butcher shop scraps.

Reminds me of those crazy teens in Jaws with their rubber shark fin.  Just when you thought it was safe to go to Siberia!

You’re up next, China.  Don’t disappoint us.

Since I love you all, I offer you a bonus video at no extra charge.  This daring look into the life of a Siberian Dwarf hamster has been hailed as an honest, gritty take on hamster life the likes of which you’ve never seen before.

About I.M. Pangs

digital verbal smog creator improbablefrontiers.com
This entry was posted in ET and his cohorts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Russia, Aliens Hoax You

  1. Autumnforest says:

    Besides wanting to be a Siberian Hamster, I was entertained by the Russian alien video. Quite obviously a hoax, but nicely done. I see a Steven Spielberg position for one of those kids in another 10 years.

Leave a Reply

