Hedgehog in the Fog

Hedgehog in the fog

My Google Chrome theme has always been this little hedgehog feller.  I liked the minimalist look and the sort of whimsically strange hedgehog.  He looked familiar, but I was never sure why.

I finally bothered to find the source.  I have no idea why I had not seen this before, because I should have.

Hedgehog in the Fog.

Hedgehog in the Fog (Russian: Ёжик в тумане, Yozhik v tumane) is a 1975 Soviet/Russiananimated film directed by Yuriy Norshteyn, produced by the Soyuzmultfilm studio in Moscow.

This is a story about a little hedgehog (voiced by Mariya Vinogradova) and his friend bear cub (voiced by Vyacheslav Nevinniy). The two would meet every evening to drink tea from the cub’s samovar, which was heated on a fire of juniper twigs. As they drank their tea, the hedgehog and the bear would converse and count the stars together. One day, the hedgehog decides to bring the bear cub some raspberry jam. On his way to meet the bear to count the stars, he passes through the woods and encounters a beautiful white horse standing in a fog so thick that the hedgehog can’t even see his own pink paw. He is curious as to whether the horse would drown if it went to sleep in the fog. The hedgehog decides to explore the fog for himself.

About I.M. Pangs

digital verbal smog creator improbablefrontiers.com
This entry was posted in Film, Literature and Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hedgehog in the Fog

  1. Sarah says:

    Funny, this is my one of my friends favorite animations. :-p

  2. I would have told you but you didn’t ask.

  3. No, I would have remembered had you.

Leave a Reply

