Puttin’ The A in G.A. or Whuzzup, Cochise?

Postcard: Aerial view of Bisbee, looking east,...

Postcard: Aerial view of Bisbee, looking east, circa 1909 (and someone wrote "1909" on the picture) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So.  Our favorite s/medium wearing spectral searchers, the Ghost Adventures crew, got themselves off to Bisbee, Arizona.  Ghosts really like Arizona.  Ghosts don’t sweat.  They have to pant (What? You’ve never heard that?)

This episode covers an investigation into The Copper Queen Hotel and The Oliver House.

Now, I would most likely be a hair off the mark to claim this particular episode was vastly different in basic composition from the majority of this season.  So, I won’t make such a claim.  I will say that it felt like it to me.  Even though I knew better.

For me.  There was a fresh blast of hot desert air.

All of the elements swirled together to form the perfect storm of an episode.  I laughed.  I cried.  It became part of me.

The crew went on an adventure.  They made no claims.  They made no definitive statements about unanswerable things.  They experienced.  They reported.  They brought us all along for the ride.

They presented what they meant to present and leave us to make our own conclusions.  As it should be.

We got the goofy locals.  We got a little off-the-beaten-path travelogue (look, kids, Old Meh-he-Co and a big fence!)  There were reenactments and montages.  Some rational debunking efforts.

And there was Renee.  I liked her style.  You should too.  Who doesn’t like shiny stuff?

This is entertainment.  These cats know how to take the piss out of themselves.  I can respect that.  But they are also serious about investigations in their own way.  The G.A. crew has passion for this.

Why so serious all the time, ghosts?

It really is OK that they enjoy themselves.  It’s a long gig.

I’ve got some ideas as to more normal explanations for the most impressive incident presented.  I’m not going to express them.  It doesn’t really matter.

This episode was a grand, vibrant 1880s Spiritualist gathering.  Truly embracing today’s Gilded Age of Fringe Thinking.

Bisbee, Arizona just happened to be founded in 1880, dontcha know.  I hope somebody brought candy corn (first commercially produced by the Wunderle Candy Company in the 1880s) and the hosts put out the good wine.

About I.M. Pangs

digital verbal smog creator improbablefrontiers.com
This entry was posted in Film, Literature and Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

