Old School Trolling

 

Everyone loves trolls!

I am still plugging along with my CampNano novel writing challenge.  I’ve got 42,000 of the 50,000 word challenge written with five days to go.  I’m feeling pretty confident.  Famous last words, huh?  I probably should have kept my mouth shut.

I took a break from writing and generally goofing the hell off today to rewatch one of my new favorite movies, Trollhunter, a 2010 Norwegian film that I randomly found on DVD last year.

At the time, I had never heard of it.  I’m sure many, if not most of you, have heard of it by now.

It’s a movie about trolls, an old troll “hunter”, and a crew of youngsters searching out the real story.  The young folks do not believe, of course, and are trying to get to the bottom of whatever nonsense is going down.  Maybe some kind of weird government experiments.  Maybe just a bunch of old wives tales.  Assuredly, no trolls.

That’s what they think.

The movie is funny, has good pacing and has trolls.  This is certainly a recipe for a fun movie.  Still, I didn’t have any grand illusions that it would be as fun as it was and that the trolls themselves would look so remarkably awesome to me.

The trolls reminded me of the pictures of trolls (as illustrated by Rien Poortvliet) I used to love looking at in the Wil Huygen book “Gnomes“.  For me, it was like watching the book come alive with the added bonus of rollicking Norwegian humor and some seriously great action sequences.

If you haven’t seen it and you like trolls, Norwegians or monster movies of any type, I recommend you catch it.  I’ve seen it come on the main movie channels a few times recently and I expect it is quite readily available these days.  I note that it is definitely available via instantwatch on Netflix.

So, you might not be able to win an argument with a troll online, but you can watch them get killed by a skillful hunter online thanks to Netflix.

SIDE NOTE:  I also managed to catch some of Troll 2 on TV the other evening.  It and the Troll 2 Documentary have played more times than they needed to over these last days.

There was no excuse for allowing myself down that rabbit hole.  It is not the best worst movie ever.  It’s just the worst movie.  You know I love shitty horror.  Troll 2 does not fit that bill unless you have self medicated with the largest bag of ‘shrooms you can get your hands on.  Even then, I expect the experience is painful and frightening.  And not in the good way.

 

About I.M. Pangs

digital verbal smog creator improbablefrontiers.com
This entry was posted in Film, Literature and Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

