At What Point Does it Transition from Graffiti to Time-capsule?

I’m sure we all have a different take on the question.  Someone tags my bridges and I instantly see artistic expression and some funny pictures.  I gloss over the illegible text, the gang affiliated emblems and the generally lame parts of the graffiti.

I can do that because it gets blasted away fairly quickly.  Often just as quickly replaced, but as a living exhibition it takes on a brighter feel for me than if I lived in a place where it never got removed.

Just chipped away over the years during harsh winters and brutal summers.  New graffiti piling up atop the old until it looks more like a kindergartener’s version of a Jackson Pollock than it does whatever it was intended to resemble.

There is no doubt, however, that seeing an old date marked on an old structure feels like something a bit special.  A window between our two nodes on the continuum.

This is what I pondered near the top of a decently tall tower amidst the green woods of the Mille Lacs Kathio State Park of Minnesota.

Kilroy was here.

Long way down, watch that last step…..

Try to imagine I didn’t smudge the camera lens (I didn’t even know I could fit my finger in that tiny hole!). Or better, try to imagine that I am making an artistic statement.

About I.M. Pangs

digital verbal smog creator improbablefrontiers.com
This entry was posted in Personal Commentary, Universal Absurdity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

