We Can Do Better, People

Wildlife is pretty spectacular.  Not just the majestic things like a whale breaching, but every little thing.  Right in your back yard.  Ants and bees, for instance.  Complex creatures engaged in great efforts.

Living smack in the middle of a large city, I am constantly amazed by how well the local creatures adapt to city life.  Coyotes are on the comeback.  Critters of all sizes and shapes can be found taking advantage of their surroundings, including people who struggle to carve an existence on the streets.  They eat what we leave untended and unwanted.  They use the detritus of our lives to make their nests more comfortable.  A man beds down on a pile of cardboard.  A bird winds a colorful trifle through its nest.

The result isn’t always as pleasant to see.  As we expect of everything.  Action and reaction.

I met with an unfortunate Canada Goose during my morning run.  Its leg entangled with fishing line.  Not at all how I want to kick off my mornings.  I would like to say it was an accident of fate.  That fishing line thrown away in the readily available trash bins had managed to get loose.  Perhaps during trash pickup.  Having seen the way people treat their environment, it’s difficult to believe that explanation.  We are really shitty stewards of this rock we live on.

Not having any tools with which to help and having a dog with me that would like nothing better than to tussle with a goose, I went home and called the Chicago Bird Collision Monitors hotline.  Should you find yourself wondering how to help an injured bird, check the Wildlife Rehabilitation Information Directory for someone near you that can help.

It may not look like a huge problem, but the goose was alone (pretty unusual at this location) and clearly distressed, not wanting to go into the water even as I approached with my beast.

On the positive side, the fine folks at Chicago Bird Collision Monitors were able to track down and help this goose and one other that was apparently entangled even worse.

Side note:  While searching for info, I ran across the Fatal Light Awareness Project.  We all know that birds smack into windows.  I was still surprised at how quickly that counter moved on the FLAP site.

An estimated 1 to 10 birds die per building, per year. The City of Toronto has over 950,000 registered buildings that could potentially kill over 9 million birds each year. Across North America, the estimated number of migrating birds killed annually in collisions with buildings ranges from 100 million to 1 billion birds.

That counter ran while I was writing this post.

Dangers abound for everyone.  Let’s not make survival harder than necessary.

About I.M. Pangs

digital verbal smog creator improbablefrontiers.com
This entry was posted in Personal Commentary, Science and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We Can Do Better, People

  1. I collided with a building once. It was lurking by the side of the road on a dark night. Bastard!

  2. Alice C. Kirk says:

    I found a strange little bird that couldn’t fly in my parking spot . I thought it was a swallow. I called around and left messages at three different wildlife rescues, with no response. I called my vet and they gave me CBCM’ number. They returned my call and had a volunteer came to Morton Grove in about an hour. I called the next day and they told me he is a chimney swift. I would give 5 stars, but the place they take the birds to, I am told, puts them to sleep more then private places.Update: With in a day, the bird was put down. I will NEVER USE THEM AGAIN!!In CBCM defense, they only transport, but I will definitely go somewhere else.

Leave a Reply

