Nanowrimo post-game recap

November is Nanowrimo month for me.  Any excuse to buckle down and force myself to write a bunch is a good excuse (I’m lookin’ at you too, Camp Nano!)

This November, I was more prepared than I have ever been.  I’m not a panster.  I am somewhere in-between seat of the pants and organized down to the finest detail.  I like an outline and I like to research relevant (and some not so) information.

I had been researching this story for a while.  I had a very clear idea of where it would go.  I even had a timeline done in Aeon Timeline.

And I was totally unprepared.  I was like a first-time camper that wandered into the sporting goods store and bought a ton of gear without a clue what I was getting myself into.

I should know better.  I can’t seem to help myself.  If I can make it more challenging on myself, I will.

I blasted out of the gates with my word count tracking on target…for about three days.  Then I got bogged down in researching all sorts of archaic nonsense.  I didn’t need to.  It wouldn’t matter for the Nano process and I knew that.  I even had my “five clicks rule” in my mind where no topic was allowed more than five clicks from a Google search page before I had to hunker back down to the actual writing.

I ignored it.  I told myself it was important background information, even if it amounted to a passing comment in relation to the overall story.  I spent hours reading about Sámi culture; telling myself I was still within my five clicks.  I joined Academia.edu because I needed to go deeper and I could.

When I finally found a writing groove, I let Thanksgiving trip me up.

In the end, I spent a lot of days doing everything for my story but writing.  The very thing this exercise is meant to get me away from.

I ended up on the final day of November needing 15,000 words to hit the 50,000 word target.  I resigned myself to failure.  Nevertheless, I was going to try.

At the least, I was going to punish myself for allowing this to happen.  Had I kept writing on day four, I would have been done long before deadline.  I managed about 4,000 words per day on the days I had actually written.

This knowledge made me force myself to sit and write on that final day.  If I was going to fail, I was going to fail having made use of every minute left in November.  I was not allowing myself the final day off just because I botched the rest of the month.

What happened should not have been surprising.

Now, how did that happen?

I finished.  With plenty of time to spare.  It was an exhausting day and I did nothing but write and take the dog out from the moment I woke up until I finished around 8PM.

Not the path to victory I had planned, but I’ll take it.

It was a personal lesson.  I hope it sticks.  If nothing else, it was fun.

I have been decompressing and playing in the snow since.

Now the editing…

About I.M. Pangs

digital verbal smog creator improbablefrontiers.com
This entry was posted in Chaos and Creation, Personal Commentary and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nanowrimo post-game recap

  1. What’s your position on punsters?

Leave a Reply

