Silence

The house is silent today.  As it was yesterday.

On Tuesday, dog lost her battle with cancer.

It’s been a long summer full of vet visits, pills, chemo treatments and very slow walks.  I loved every minute of it because the alternative is this silence.

Scout and I had a lifetime of adventures together.  She was a warrior to the very end.  I’m glad she’s at rest now.  Cancer is a real bitch.

Now I’m a bit lost.  Everything is the same, but it isn’t.  The world goes on, but I’m hovering in the schism of a brief moment on a Tuesday afternoon.

I told a friend Tuesday evening that I didn’t want another dog right now.  Too soon.  Maybe later.  Wednesday was so quiet and weird that I started thinking about it anyway.

Nobody can simply choose to replace a best friend, but perhaps some dog and I can rescue each other.

It was worth every second.  I’ll miss you, buddy.

mndegzo

p0ormgb

6ccre2d

2lnao7e

pzt83he

8hdhhi5

magso1i

About I.M. Pangs

digital verbal smog creator thisisnoir.house
This entry was posted in Personal Commentary and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Silence

  1. Graecyn | PC Gamer Girl says:

    I will miss her sweet little face <3

  2. She was grand. I always enjoyed the photos of her that you posted. Thank you for those. <3

Leave a comment